The New Brunswick Institute of Technology, the Saint John Institute of Technology and Northeastern Community College offer post-secondary vocational and technical programs. The Maritime Forest Ranger School is located in Fredericton. In addition to hospital schools, the Saint John School of Nursing provides RN training.

After grade 12, four years of study are required for a first degree. The province's four universities are the University of New Brunswick, St. Thomas University, Mount Allison University and Université de Moncton, the last providing higher education to the French-speaking population.

Quebec

7.4.5

Quebec spent \$737 per capita on education in 1976, more than any other province. But the \$4.6 billion represented only 10.2% of the Gross Provincial Product.

Enrolment in elementary and secondary schools was 1,398,600, about a quarter (25.5%) of the national total. Full-time elementary and secondary teachers numbered 72,600. At the post-secondary level, non-university enrolment was 121,400 in contrast to 77,600 in universities; Quebec is the only province where the former exceeds the latter, but this is because of the collèges d'enseignement général et professionnel (CEGEP) system. The relative sizes of the full-time staff in the two types of institution reflect this unique distribution: 8,990 non-university teachers; 6,810 in universities.

Much of the province's present education system resulted from a 1961 royal commission study of education. In 1964, acting on the commission's recommendations, the government passed legislation that created a ministry of education. The province was divided into nine administrative areas, each containing a regional education office headed by a director. A superior council of education was also created in 1964 as a public consultative body to supplement the department. Its 24 members are appointed by the government for a four-year term.

Each municipality has one or more public schools under the control of school commissioners or trustees. Elected five-member boards of school commissioners operate schools for an area's majority population, Roman Catholic or Protestant. However, a minority of ratepayers may constitute a separate school municipality under a board of school trustees. This three-member board, too, is elected and can own property, levy taxes, receive government grants, operate schools and hire teachers. The province, excluding Montreal, contains 189 school commissions grouped into 64 regional school boards; nine are Protestant. Montreal has an additional seven school commissions.

The ages of compulsory attendance are 6 to 15 although kindergartens admitting 5year-olds are now part of the system. Elementary school consists of six years based on continuous progress. The comprehensive secondary program lasts five years. Promotion throughout is by subject and unlike most other provinces a final departmental exam is required for graduation.

Post-secondary education begins in the tuition-free CEGEPs. Inaugurated in 1967-68, CEGEPs were generally not created anew, but resulted from reorganization of existing institutions such as normal schools, classical colleges and technical institutes. They are administered by a public corporation composed of faculty, students, parents and community representatives but depend for revenue wholly on the education department. The department regulates budgets and issues guidelines for curriculum and administration.

Quebec is the only province where students must enrol in a community college before going to university. As well as the two-year preparatory academic program, CEGEPs provide three-year vocational programs that train students for direct labour market entry. Of the 37 CEGEPs, four are English-language institutions. Nursing diploma training takes place only in the CEGEPs.

Private or classical colleges offer the equivalent of the two-year CEGEP university transfer program. Students may, however, continue at the college and work toward a degree from the university with which it is affiliated.

The first degree requires three additional years of study after completion of two CEGEP years. The seven universities in the province (three of them English) have a